top of page

J Scott Cup Winner Announced

Welcome to night thirteen of our virtual 2020 Drax Golf Club Presentation Evening(s). Only 7 more nights to go until we announce our Player of the Year! 🏆

Yesterday we celebrated the winner of our President's Cup, Ian Mileham.

Today, we recognise the achievements of our J Scott Cup winner.

In the late 1980s after permission was granted to build the golf course at Drax, a committee was formed to govern the new club. Once formed, several of the committee members came up with their designs of how they thought the course layout should be. Although all were presented very professionally, the committee eventually decided on Mr John Scotts design for a 9-hole course which would then open in 1990. ⛳️

John stayed on the committee for several years and became the Clubs second Captain in 1991.

This year the J Scott Cup was won in some style! Whilst there were several scores under par, including what would normally be a competition-winning net 63, the winner of this competition went a little deeper and finished his round with an unbelievable net 60! Not bad for someone playing off 12 at the time! Needless to say, Mr Burton had his sheers out and gave a substantial handicap cut! ✂️

Congratulations to this year's J Scott Cup winner, Kevin Simpson! 👏🏆


1 Comment

Nov 15, 2020


bottom of page